This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website, you agree to their use. For more information or to change your settings, click here.

Portuguese Club Teams in Domestic Competitions

Winners of the Portuguese "Top Flight" by Year

The "Big Three" Further Info

Benfica were founded on the 28th February 1904; Sporting on the 1st July 1906; and Porto on the 28th September 1893.

Benfica's stadium was originally known as the "Estádio de Luz", Sporting's stadium was the "Estádio José Alvalade", and Porto's stadium was the "Estádio das Antas".

For Euro 2004, the international soccer tournament held in Portugal, new stadia were built for these 3 teams. The Benfica and Sporting stadia were named "Estádio do Benfica" and "Estádio do Sporting" respectively; but the original names are still in near-universal use. Porto's new stadium is known as "Estádio do Dragão".


Portuguese Club Teams Domestically

Portuguese Club Teams in Europe

Portuguese Players Domestically

Portuguese Players in Club Teams in Europe

Players in National Team

Portugal National Team History

International Tournaments

Personal Accolades